MLB Teams Release 2021 Schedules

Dan Mennella
July 09, 2020 - 1:46 pm

Major League Baseball's virus-shortened 2020 season isn't yet underway, but the league is apparently already looking ahead to next year's campaign.

Baseball's 30 teams released their 2021 schedules on Thursday, just days after MLB released schedules for the upcoming 60-game season, which is set to begin with two games on July 23 and a full slate on July 24.

In a break from decades of precedent in which season openers have been spread out across several days, all 30 clubs will open the season on the same day in 2021 -- on April 1, a Thursday. It would mark the first time every team opened on the same day since 1968, a league press release said.

Interleague matchups in 2021 will be a repeat of the upcoming season, where each division plays its counterpart in the opposite league. So the AL East will play the NL East, and so on.

The Yankees and Mets, as previously reported, will square off at Citi Field on the 20th anniversary of 9/11, and will also play earlier in the season on July 4 at Yankee Stadium.

The All-Star Game, the 91st in MLB history, will be played at Truist Park in Atlanta. The city previously hosted the Midsummer Classic at Turner Field in 2000.

The final day of the regular season will be October 3, a Sunday.

Each of the league's 30 teams released its 2020 schedule on Monday, complemented by a televised event on MLB Network.

MLB schedules in past years have been released, with relatively little fanfare compared to the NFL, anywhere from mid-August to mid-September.